Academic Affairs Awards

Academic Affairs AwardsAcademy of Distinguished Teachers

Academy of Distinguished Teachers Award

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers was established in 1995 to recognize and support the outstanding professors at UNL who are not only experts in their content area but have continuously demonstrated excellent pedagogy in teaching their students, in developing curricula, and in designing new modes of instructional delivery. In 2008, the new John Weaver and Aaron Douglas Professorships of Teaching Excellence were created to honor faculty with sustained records of teaching excellence. At the same time membership in the Academy was closed.

More Information


  1. Winner of a college, campus-wide, or University-wide teaching award
  2. Awarded tenure
  3. Five years of teaching at UNL in a faculty position

Academy of Distinguished Teachers members from CASNR

2006Ronald HansonAgricultural Economics
1996Robert Sorenson (emeritus)Agronomy & Horticulture
1995Leverne BarrettAgricultural Leadership, Education and Communication